APCC logo

APCC Working Group

The Working Group is a very important stakeholder group of APCC consisted of 20 representatives from the National Meteorologidcal Services (NHMSs) of APEC member economies. The group provides feeedback and demands on APCC’s research and projects, and collaborating through various projects. Through the annual Working Group Meeting, we share climate issues of each economies’ climate-related issues and discuss how to respond to those issues.

In order to cope with changing climat systems, APCC is also taking the lead in supporting members with climate issues by developing necessary services based on their demands. In addition, the climate prediction information provided by APCC is widely used in member economoies for the production and analysis of monthly and seasonal climate prediction information.


Dr. Lynette Bettio

Team Leader, Long-range Forecasting Team, Bureau of Meteorology


Mr. Normand Gagnon

Chief, Assimilation and Data Quality Control Section,
Meteorological Service of Canada


Mr. Gaston Torres Aravena

Deputy Director, Climatology,
National Weather Service of Chile


Dr. Jia Xiaolong

Director, National Climate Center,
China Meteorological Administration

Hong Kong, China

Mr. Saiming Lee

Senior Scientist Officer,
Development, Research and Administration Branch, Hong Kong Observatory


Mr. Marjuki

Head of Division, Applied Climate Information Service, Meteorology, Climatology and Geophysical Agency


Mr. Masashi Harada

Senior Scientific Officer, Tokyo Climate Center, Japan Meteorological Agency

Republic of Korea

Dr. Kyeong-On Boo

Director, Climate Research Department,
National Institute of Meteorological Sciences


Mr. Muhammad Helmi Abdullah

Director General
Malaysia Meteorological Department


Ms. Adelina Albanil Encarnacion

Head, Technical Department, National Meteorological Service, National Water Commission

New Zealand

Dr. Nicolas Charles Fauchereau

Climate Scientist, Climate and Environmental Application, National Institute of Water and Atmospheric Research


Ms. Gabriela Teófila Rosas Benancio

Executive President
National Service of Meteorology and Hydrology of Peru


Ms. Thelma A. Cinco

Weather Services Chief
Climatology and Agrometeorology Division, Philippine Atmospheric Geophysical and Astronomical Services Administration

Papua New Guinea

Mr. Jimmy Gomoga

PNG National Weather Service


Marina Spiridonova

Deputy Head
Department for Special and Scientific Programmes, Roshydromet


Dr. Aurel Florian Moise

Senior Principal Research Scientist
Centre for Climate Research Singapore (CCRS), Meteorological Service Singapore (MSS)

Chinese Taipei

Dr. Jing-Shan Hong

Director of Research and Development Center
Central Weather Administration


Mr. Thanasith Iamananchai

Deputy Director-General for Technical Services
Thai Meteorological Department

United States

Dr. David Dewitt

Director, Climate Prediction Center, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration


Mr. Tran Hong Thai

Director General
Vietnam Meteorological and Hydrological Administration